Lovely time in Larne

Posted on April 5, 2011. Filed under: Women's Ministry | Tags: , , , , |

Last night I had the priviledge to spend time with some lovely ladies in Larne, Northern Ireland.  On the 45 minute drive up the east coast of Northern Ireland, I saw spectacular rolling hills highlighting a patchwork of gorgious green colors.   Some visitors complain about the rain in Northern Ireland, but if there was no rain they would not be blessed with such a beautiful green land.  (My favorite color is green.)  Also on the way to the church, I saw the biggest generator factory in the world – right there in Larne! 

Such a smiling group of women…

My favorite part of the night, by far, was the part of the lesson when I talked about God’s love for us.  He loves us with such a personal & passionate love.  He knows every detail of our lives, including our dirt deep down.  I had a beautiful white rose to hand to one lady.  I then would proceed to say, “I gave this gift to ____ because she is looking so lovely tonight.”  I gave her a gift, only because of what good things I saw on the outside.  Yet, God gives us the greatest gift, although he sees the dirt deep down inside of us.  Romans 5:6-8 says “For while we were still helpless, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly.  For one will hardly die for a righteous man;though perhaps for the good man someone would dare even to die. But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”  Once I handed her the rose, I asked her what her name was.  She choked up, and quietly said “Rose.”  Out of 55 women at the event last night, God directed me to give a rose to Rose!  God knew her name, He knew she had a rough day and He wanted to show her love in such a special way.  The lady next to her said “She loves flowers too!”  It was so special to see God touch someone in such an intimate loving way.  Definitely my favorite part of the night!

If you think my face was expressive when I found out her name was Rose, you should have seen her, and the ladies around her!!!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new recipes and posts by email.

  • Couscous Salad

  • Moroccan Chicken Tangine

  • Coq Au Vin

  • How to make Chocolate Leaves

  • Carrot Passion Cake

  • Raspberry crumble

  • Pineapple Chicken Chinese Dish

  • Oatmeal Cranberry White Choc Cookies

  • Women's Ministries for our Generation

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

