Stones of Suffering

Posted on August 21, 2012. Filed under: Family, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , |

Ever been in a bad mood? Ever have one of those terrible, horrible, no good, very bad days? Alexander, from the cartoon children’s book, isn’t the only one who had so much frustration all piled up into one day. Today, I can relate to Alexander. There wasn’t an earthquake, a robbery, or a disaster with friends & family. There was only a slow, steady drizzling of annoying raindrops that amounted to a flood, a flood of tears.

Drip. Drip. Drip.

Drip after drop after drip of frustrating circumstances kicked me off my feet and pushed me down the stream of life. Rushing water isn’t gracious, it flows where it wills. Bumping rocks along the way, what ever happened to my dreamy beach holiday? Ahh, the pain of sharp rocks against my side, this vicious water is providing no safe place to abide. Rough rocks fail to apologize with the cutting hurt they bring. With time, being tumbled over many small rocks accumulated into one giant sting. Hope, where are you?  Throw me a rescue ring. Bring me in your healing arms, I know they are comforting.

The sun began to shine. Soft whispers did I hear. I turned my head towards heaven and a bird appeared. O Jesus, I need You. Please come and comfort me in only the way that you can do. Surrounded by nature, the creations of God, I wondered why His rocks tumbled and His water flowed which overwhelmed my soul. No answer was I given, so down I looked and saw the stream carrying away bits and pieces of my negativity, bad character and flaw.

Little did I know, the rocks and water tumbled and tore so that I would be like Jesus even more.  The teardrops that once flowed watered the flowers of faithfulness. Make me more like you, in my everyday actions and attitude! 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new recipes and posts by email.

  • Couscous Salad

  • Moroccan Chicken Tangine

  • Coq Au Vin

  • How to make Chocolate Leaves

  • Carrot Passion Cake

  • Raspberry crumble

  • Pineapple Chicken Chinese Dish

  • Oatmeal Cranberry White Choc Cookies

  • Women's Ministries for our Generation

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

