Cooking Adventures in Belfast

Posted on October 13, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

Have I mentioned that I am attending a part time Professional Cookery Course this year?

This is the view I have from my workspace… I see one of the two cranes that built the Titanic!  They are named Sampson and Goliath.

Here is my “Puree de champignon” (for the French speakers) or my Mushroom puree soup with homemade herb crutons.  We are learning tons of French terms in class, such as a Boquet Garni…

boquet garni is a combination of herbs and aromatic vegetables tied together and dangled into a stockpot on a string. These herb bundles give the stew, soup or stock an aromatic seasoning. I am using the green of the leek as a base for my parsley, dried bay leaves and peppercorn.

I rolled up the leaves, folded them over and tied them with a string.

The boquet garni is removed before serving the soup.  Below is another soup that I have flavored with the boquet garni.  It is DELICIOUS!!!

Finally, here are a few vegetable cuts, such as a brunoise and paysanne.   I am proud of my itty bitty carrot cubes 🙂

I will continue to share the lessons I am learning in class each week on my blog, so stay tunned!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Cooking Adventures in Belfast”

RSS Feed for Table Talk – Coming Back to The Table Comments RSS Feed

What you talking about taking a class? You could be teaching that class!

Wow! I’m so impressed…with your itty bitty carrots (had to use the magnifying glass), your boquet garni…and your French! I think it is terrific to learn new things, especially chef’s tricks. I can barely boil water.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Recent Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new recipes and posts by email.

  • Couscous Salad

  • Moroccan Chicken Tangine

  • Coq Au Vin

  • How to make Chocolate Leaves

  • Carrot Passion Cake

  • Raspberry crumble

  • Pineapple Chicken Chinese Dish

  • Oatmeal Cranberry White Choc Cookies

  • Women's Ministries for our Generation

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

